Showing posts with label health and fitness. Show all posts
Showing posts with label health and fitness. Show all posts

Monday, January 9, 2012

For the New Year's Resolutions...

Zumba- http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMTA1NDI2MzEy.html

This is a free site that has uploaded workouts! The link I've sent you to will be my workout of the morning (gas went up again, I can't justify driving 20 minutes to the gym when I'm not already on the way there...)

Hope you enjoy!

Another great site I'm using is myfitnesspal. If you join, be sure to add me as a friend! I'm mselle07 :) You can also download it on your smartphone!

I made some dinners for the week last night since I had a rare Sunday off- I made butternut squash soup, brown rice, mashed potatoes for Chad, and baked some chicken breasts for a few easy meals before we go to New Hampshire on Thursday for our Christmas gift to each other- a mini vacation back to where he proposed back in October. I can't wait!

Most weeks I'll try to make real meals for each night- yesterday I had some spare time and had all of the ingredients for those little things, so that's why there's NO variety. I'll also be using some canned beans I have for sides. It was a good start, at least. :)

Now, my new year's resolution was not to lose 10 pounds. That's been my resolution every year. (And yes, I've lost 5-10 pounds every year for the past..few.) But this year I want to create a healthier relationship with food and dieting. I have a tendency to get obsessed, and this year I'm looking for a different way to stay healthy. Do I have a goal to lose? Yes, but I also have a goal to gain muscle- so I'm not quite sure where my target weight is. Did I eat a little poorly this week? Yes! But you know what? I had fun, too. I tried "naan" sweet bread for the first time. I drank hot chocolate. But not once did I say, "ugh, how many calories is this, ugh." (Maybe I did. Once. But I got over it and enjoyed the time I was spending with my friends instead. I also went to the gym and drank lots of water, two big goals of mine this year!)

So that's my little rant- hope it made sense- and maybe it inspired you to remember the other things in life, too...

What are you doing so far to incorporate a healthier lifestyle? Things you've already been doing? New things to try? I'd love to know!

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

hardcore.

In an effort to be in shape (whatever that means) Chad and I have been spending more time outdoors. (Also, there is an effort to be more tan. Hooray for summer!)

Saturday, on a whim he decided my birthday present was going to be this bad boy:

We took them out (he has one too!) for a good two hours. It was a blast!

Sunday we relaxed, drank beer and ate delicious food. We were supposed to see a movie at 9:30 at night...however, we are not stupid. We know ourselves and eachother. We do not leave the house after 7 unless you're REALLY, REALLY awesome. We went home and watched a movie, and fell asleep on the couch. Typical.

Monday I had to work, but we decided since it was beautiful out, we'd take the mountain bikes out. (That had been my graduation gift. Can you tell my boyfriend is an outdoorsman?)

We got lost on the trails for a bit (luckily it wasn't as bad as we thought!) and got to explore the beautiful town we live in. We even caught up to a gorgeous deer who just stared at us from twenty feet away! She was beautiful. Times you wish you had the camera...

Today I rode Callie with Sue and Dart. Callie was on the bit, consistent, and even did a simple lead change at the canter with only three trot steps. This is the second time we've attempted simple changes. This mare blows my mind with how willing she is. The only buck she threw was in the same corner she always does to catch her balance a bit more as she tends to lean in. More canterwork will fix this, I'm sure. In the heat though I tend not to run her entirely ragged. We did a few smaller circles today and she seems to be holding herself up a bit more. Now that college is over for me, I've been able to ride more and hold her accountable for things we haven't had the time to work on. I feel like in a month she's come along so far. Spending her four first riding years in college certainly set us back a bit but this mare is just so quick to learn and eager to please that every ride feels beautiful. There's very rarely a time where she's done something out of spite or crankiness.

To give you another picture, here's us jumping a bag of shavings next to a wheelbarrow with a pole set over it...(this is HARDCORE, not ghetto.)




And now, I'm sitting at home in my breeches still, two loads of laundry in the wash and a cat box to clean. Life.


At least I'm hardcore everywhere else...

Sunday, May 1, 2011

Just my daily workout...


Okay. I'm joking. I wish I wasn't though. My friend sent me this and for a split second I got super motivated to do 100 jumping jacks. I see things like this and I think, oh gosh, that's so easy. I could totally do that. And then it comes down to it and I giggle to myself as I see it on my computer desktop.

But I'll tell you I'm going to try it, that I just haven't had TIME, or I haven't had ENERGY.

This post could be taken as a fitness tip, or a Silly Sunday picture. You choose!

Off to try this, (Or am I?)